Resources for Learning Sports Analytics Coding

A list of tutorials and websites to start your sports analytics journey

Josh Gonzales, PhD(c)
2 min readApr 1, 2020
Photo by Tim Gouw on Unsplash

I’ve always loved sports. But when I first tried to learn sports analytics, it was overwhelming. It still is sometimes.

So when I saw a thread by the Measurables podcast on Twitter giving the best beginner sports analytics tutorials I knew I had to share it. I don’t want you to have to go through the same trial and error process that I did when I first started.

Twitter threads are notoriously difficult to go through. Plus, you’re usually checking tweets on your phone. Alternatively, I’ve broken down the list and ordered it by sports type so you can get started right away.

Happy sports coding!

Baseball

Basketball

Field Hockey

Football

--

--

Josh Gonzales, PhD(c)

PhD Candidate @ University of Guelph studying representation in entertainment and goal-oriented decision-making